Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal
Division of Elevator Safety
James R. Thompson Center
100 West Randolph Street, Suite 4-600
Chicago, IL 60601
312-814-1325
Fax 312-814-3459

Application for Elevator Mechanic License

Any person that shall erect, construct, wire, alter, replace, maintain, remove, or dismantle any conveyance contained within buildings
or structures in the jurisdiction of this State must be licensed by the Office of the State Fire Marshal and be employed by a person,
firm, or company having an elevator contractor's license in accordance with the Elevator Safety and Regulation Act [225 ILCS 312 et.

seq.].

All Applications for Elevator Mechanic Licenses must be submitted to the Office of the State Fire Marshal, Elevator Safety Division,
James R. Thompson Center, 100 W. Randolph Street, Suite 4-600, Chicago, IL 60601. The Office will invoice you the appropriate
application fee. Do not send payment with application. The Elevator Safety Division will process Applications in the order they are
received and shall issue the applicant a license upon receipt of payment or notify the applicant of the reason for the denial.
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Mechanic License Number Date Issued

1. Type of License & Fee (check one):

|:| Mechanic $250.00 |:| Limited $150.00 |:| Temporary $100.00 |:| Renewal Application $ 250.00

Note: You must include a 2” x 2” passport photograph with your application. License #

2. Applicant

Applicant Name: Social Security Number:

Street Address:

City/State/Zip Code:

Phone Number: Date of Birth:

Email Address: Years of Experience:

3. Current Employer

Name of Contractor: Illinois Elevator Contractor License Number:

Address:

City/State/Zip Code:

Phone Number: Fax Number:




CONTRACTOR SIGNATURE: By signing below, the Contractor hereby attests that it currently employs the above-listed
Applicant.

Signature

Name

Title

NOTE: SKIP SECTION 4 IE THIS IS A RENEWAL APPLICATION AND COMPLETE SECTION 5.

4. Qualifications: You must have one of the following qualifications. However, please identify all that apply.

[J Completion of a Board approved Apprenticeship Program:
Please attach a copy of the certificate of completion.

Name of Program Certified number

[J Completion of a Board approved Nationally Recognized Training Program:
Please attach a copy of the certificate of successful completion.

Name of Program Certified number

[ 3 Years Work Experience with Test. If you have at least 3 years of work experience prior to the date you filed this
application and passed the written Mechanic’s Test or Limited Mechanic’s Test, you may be eligible for a license by the
Office.

Acceptable proof shall consist of documentation that applicant worked for an elevator contractor who has worked on elevators in
this State for a period of not less than 3 years and satisfactory completion of a written examination.

Please submit a letter from your employer(s) verifying your work experience and have your employer(s) complete this section.
Without this verification the application cannot be processed.

I certify under penalty of perjury that the aforementioned employment experience is verified as true and accurate information.

Signature Print Name Title Date

I certify under penalty of perjury that the aforementioned employment experience is verified as true and accurate information.

Signature Print Name Title Date

I certify under penalty of perjury that the aforementioned employment experience is verified as true and accurate information.

Signature Print Name Title Date



5. Continuing Education (for Renewal of License):

Conditions:
Credit hours approved will be for actual classroom hours of training. The renewal of all licenses granted under the provisions of the
Elevator Safety and Regulation Act shall be conditioned upon the submission of a certificate of completion of a course designed to
ensure the continuing education of licensees on new and existing provisions of the rules of the Elevator Safety Review Board. Such
course(s) shall consist of not less than 8 hours of instruction which shall include a minimum of 2 hours of code updates, that
shall be attended and completed within one year immediately preceding any such license renewal. The training must cover topics such
as:

e Design, installation, construction, maintenance, repair, replacement, alteration, and troubleshooting of equipment covered by

the A17 series of codes (the equipment)

o  Safety in working on or about the equipment, and safety of the users of the equipment
e The Codes covering the equipment

e Inspection and testing of the equipment

The Elevator Safety Review Board acknowledges that continuing education is supplied by many parties other than manufacturers, and
has approved various providers. Please refer to our website at www.state.il.us/osfm, click on the Elevator Safety link on the left-hand
side, then click on the “Elevator Safety Review Board News Updates” link on the right-hand side. Open the most recent Continuing
Education Board Decision for a list of providers and programs.

Credit hours will not be approved for classes or time covering general business issues, filling out of time tickets or reports, meals,
business meetings, social gathering, and general non-structured discussions.

The training provider must provide the trainee with a certificate of completion of the training, the subject matter of the training, the
actual period of instruction time and the date the training was given. The training provider must maintain documentation of the
training provided, including attendance sheets bearing the signatures of the attendees, subject matter, date, and location, and actual
instruction time. The training provider shall provide this documentation to the OSFM, if requested.

Please note the specific training program(s) attended and attach certificates of completion (Code update courses must be listed
separately):

6. Applicant Signature:

I certify under penalty of perjury that the information on this application is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. | further
understand that any false, incomplete, or incorrect statements may result in my disqualification from the licensing process.

Applicant Signature Date

Revised 5/31/12
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