
  

 
Office of the State Fire Marshal 
Attn: Pyrotechnic Licensing Division 
1035 Stevenson Drive 
Springfield, Illinois  62703-4259 

 
 

NOTICE TO LICENSEE 
Pyrotechnic Distributor, Production Company, Limited Pyrotechnic Distributor 

(Municipal/Governmental) and Pyrotechnic Lead Operator 
 

A. Pursuant to 41 Ill. Adm. Code 230.170, a licensee is obligated to notify the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal (OSFM) in writing at the above address within 5 business days after the following events: 

 
1)         Discovery that his/her license has been lost, stolen or destroyed. 

  
2)         ATF license has expired or ATF has terminated, suspended or revoked a license or Letter 

of Clearance.  A copy of any written notice of termination, suspension or revocation shall 
be sent to OSFM. 

  
3)         DNR explosives license has expired or DNR has terminated, suspended or revoked the 

license.  A copy of any written notice of termination, suspension or revocation shall be 
sent to OSFM. 

  
4)         USDOT has changed the licensee's Identification Number.  Proof of the licensee's new 

Identification Number shall be sent to OSFM. 
  

5)         USDOT has changed the licensee's Hazardous Materials Registration Number.  Proof of 
the licensee's new registration number shall be sent to OSFM. 

  
6)         The licensee's insurance company or the licensee has changed any of its insurance 

coverage.  A pyrotechnic distributor licensee shall send a new Certificate of Insurance 
showing proof of not less than $1,000,000 in product liability insurance, $1,000,000 in 
general liability insurance and proof of Illinois Workers' Compensation insurance shall 
be sent to OSFM.  [225 ILCS 227/35]  The insurance coverage shall provide for 30 days 
minimum coverage prior to written notice of cancellation to OSFM and shall comply with 
Section 230.100(a)(4).  A production company distributor licensee shall send a new 
Certificate of Insurance and copy of the policy showing proof of not less than $2,000,000 
in general liability insurance and proof of Illinois Workers' Compensation insurance.  
The insurance coverage shall provide for a minimum of 30 days coverage after written 
notice to OSFM of cancellation and shall comply with Section 230.100.  The insurer 
shall not cancel the insured's coverage or remove an additional insured from the policy 
coverage without notifying OSFM in writing at least 15 days before cancellation.  [225 
ILCS 227/35] 

  
7)         A distributor licensee or production company licensee has changed its officers.  A sworn 

statement listing all of the distributor's current officers' names and personal addresses, 
and copies of each officer's driver's license, shall be sent to OSFM.   

  



8)         A distributor licensee or production company licensee no longer employs a lead operator.  
The distributor licensee or production company licensee shall provide OSFM with the full 
name and last known address of the lead operator.   

  
B. Pursuant to 41 Ill. Adm. Code 230.170, a licensee is obligated to notify the Office of the State Fire 

Marshal (OSFM) in writing at the above address within 10 days after a change in his/her address or 
name.  Proof that the change in address or name had been done in accordance with the law shall be sent 
to OSFM. 

 


