
Pyrotechnic Distributor and Operator Licenses 
Application Instructions 

 
All applications must be submitted to: 

Office of the State Fire Marshal 
Pyrotechnic Licensing Division 
1035 Stevenson Drive 
Springfield, Illinois 62703-4259 

    
License Fees:  
  

 Pyrotechnic Distributor License and each renewal              $500  
  

 Outdoor Professional License and each renewal  $100  
  

Proximate Audience License, Limited Proximate Audience License and       $300 each 
renewal  

  
 Flame Effect License, Limited Flame Effect License and each renewal  $300  

  
Replacement license (lost, stolen, or destroyed) or duplicate license                   $25 (worn, 
damaged, or address change)  

  
All fees paid under this Act are non-refundable.  225 ILCS 227/50(c).  The Office of the State Fire 
Marshal may revoke or refuse to issue the license to any person who fails to pay the requisite 
fees.  225 ILCS 227/55.  
  
You will be invoiced once your application has been approved. Payments submitted with 
applications and prior to application approval will be returned. Checks should be payable to the Office 
of the State Fire Marshal - Pyrotechnic License and mailed to: 
Office of The State Fire Marshal 
Division of Fire Prevention 
P.O. Box 6171 
Springfield, IL 62708-6171 
 
Online payments are accepted through our e-Commerce site:  
http://www.sfm.illinois.gov/public/ecommerce.aspx 
 
Insufficient Funds:  Any person who on 2 occasions issues or delivers a check or other order to the 
Office of the State Fire Marshal that is not honored by the financial institution upon which it is drawn 
because of insufficient funds on account shall pay to the Office of the State Fire Marshal, in addition 
to the fees owing, a fee of $50.00.  225 ILCS 227/55.    
  
Insufficient Funds on Renewal Licenses:  Any person who issues or delivers a check or other order 
to the Office of the State Fire Marshal in payment of a renewal fee that is not honored by the financial 
institution upon which it is drawn because of insufficient funds on account, and the licensee whose 
license has lapsed continues to practice without paying the renewal fee and the $50.00 fee for 
insufficient funds pursuant to 225 ILCS 227/55, shall pay to the Office of the State Fire Marshal an 
additional fee of $100.00 for practicing without a current license.  225 ILCS 227/55.  

http://www.sfm.illinois.gov/public/ecommerce.aspx
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Fingerprint Based Background Check Requirements:  
  
Who must be fingerprinted?  
  
Pursuant to Section 40 of the Pyrotechnic Distributor and Operator Licensing Act, 225 ILCS 227/40, 
each license applicant must file a fingerprint card, in the form and manner required by the Illinois 
State Police (“ISP”), with the ISP to conduct a criminal history check.  For  
Pyrotechnic Distributors, each officer of the business must submit his or her fingerprints.  In the event 
an individual fingerprinted for a Pyrotechnic Distributor License is also applying for a Pyrotechnic 
Operator License, he or she only needs to submit his or her fingerprints once.  For these individuals, 
please submit a note with your Pyrotechnic Operator License application identifying the Pyrotechnic 
Distributor application for which you submitted your fingerprints.  
  
When should the applicant be fingerprinted?  
  
The fingerprinting requirement is part of the application process.  The applicant should be 
fingerprinted at or about the time he or she submits an application for a license.  
  
Where should the applicant be fingerprinted?  
  
The ISP currently requires fingerprints to be electronically submitted.  Vendors are located  
throughout Illinois where an applicant may have his or her fingerprints electronically submitted to the 
ISP.  The Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation manages the licensing of 
Fingerprint Vendors. A vendor’s list is available at: 
https://www.idfpr.com/LicenseLookUp/fingerprintlist.asp 
  
 
What is the cost for submitting fingerprints?  
  
The ISP and the FBI charge set fees for the electronic submission of fingerprints.  In addition to these 
fees, the vendor may charge a processing fee, which may vary from vendor to vendor.  In the event the 
original submission of fingerprints is deemed unclassifiable by the ISP or FBI, and an applicant’s 
fingerprints need to be resubmitted, the vendor may charge an additional fee for resubmission.  These 
fees are the responsibility of the applicant.   Contact the vendors for specific fee information and 
acceptable methods of payment. 

  

https://www.idfpr.com/LicenseLookUp/fingerprintlist.asp
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What information or documents should I bring with me?  
  
Contact the vendor for specific requirements. You should bring your driver’s license or state issued 
identification card with you.  You should take these instructions with you.  Some vendors may require 
you submit a completed version of this final page as a record of the fingerprinting process.  The 
vendor should issue a receipt to you identifying your TCN number.  The TCN number is a unique 
number, which will be assigned when you are fingerprinted.  It is important that you maintain a 
copy of the TCN number in case you need to track the processing of your fingerprints.  

    
  

Office of the State Fire Marshal 
Pyrotechnic Licensing Division 
1035 Stevenson Drive Springfield, IL 62703 
(217) 785-0969 

Purpose Code:  PDA     ORI:  IL920690Z  
  

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT BEFORE FINGERPRINTING: 
First Name:  Middle Name:  Last Name:  Suffix:  
        
_____________________  ____________________ ________________________________                   ________  
  
Maiden Name/Formerly Used Name (First, Middle, Last):  
  
_______________________________________________________________     
Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code):  Phone Number:  
    
_______________________________________________________________  Work: ______________________    
   
Date of Birth:  Social Security Number:  Cell:    _____________________  
      
__________________________  _____________________________  Other: _____________________ 
      
Issuing State:    Driver’s License or Identification Card Number:  Expiration Date:  
      
______________________  ___________________________________________  _________________  
  

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE LIVE SCAN TECHNICIAN:  
  
Identify the Driver’s License or State Identification Card used to verify the applicant’s identity.    
State and Driver’s License Number:  State and Identification Card Number:  
    
________________________________________  __________________________________________  
    
Technician’s Name (Printed):  Date:  
    
____________________________________________________________  ______________________  
    
Technician’s Signature:  TCN Number:  
    
________________________________________________  ___________________________________  
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