Commercial Menu

FAQ's


Question: Why is it necessary to inspect boilers and pressure vessels?

Answer: Boilers and pressure vessels can and sometimes do explode. The resultant loss of life and property is a concern to all the residents of Illinois. We are exposed to the dangers of boilers and pressure vessels every day. Many of the schools our children attend, the churches where we worship, the hospitals where we seek medical attention, the factories in which we work, the stores in which we shop all contain these devices. The potential for accidents is well documented.


Question: Am I required to have my boiler or pressure vessel inspected?

Answer: Illinois state statute requires all boilers and pressure vessels to be registered and inspected unless otherwise exempted. (see 430 ILCS 75/5 and Section 120.105 or 120.205) Generally speaking, boilers or pressure vessels situated in locations, which are frequented by the public, need to be inspected. Some smaller units are exempt from inspection. Boilers located in private residences or multi-family buildings having fewer than 6 dwelling units are exempt from inspection.


Question: Who is responsible for ensuring a boiler or pressure vessel is inspected and in compliance with Illinois State law?

Answer: Illinois state statute requires all boilers and pressure vessels to be registered and inspected unless otherwise exempted. (see 430 ILCS 75/5 and Section 120.105 or 120.205) Generally speaking, boilers or pressure vessels situated in locations, which are frequented by the public, need to be inspected. Some smaller units are exempt from inspection. Boilers located in private residences or multi-family buildings having fewer than 6 dwelling units are exempt from inspection.


Question: Who is responsible for ensuring a boiler or pressure vessel is inspected and in compliance with Illinois State law?

Answer: The owner or user is required to notify the Division of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety and have the boiler or pressure vessel registered and inspected. (see 430 ILCS 75/12) The owner or user is also responsible to maintain their pressure equipment in safe working order, and generate/keep a maintenance log on each registered object.


Question: Who can perform the required inspections on my boiler or pressure vessel?

Answer: There are 2 types of inspectors commissioned to perform inspections of pressure equipment under state law. Inspectors employed by the Division of Boiler and Pressure Safety and inspectors employed by authorized insurance companies. Insurance company inspectors can only inspect and submit reports to the division for equipment they insure. All first time inspections for new or used equipment must be performed by a state inspector. Their insurance company inspector can carry out subsequent inspections on insured equipment once the equipment is registered.


Question: How often are these inspections required?

Answer: Inspections are required at 1, 2 and 3 year intervals depending on the type of equipment. High pressure boilers require internal inspections annually. Low pressure boilers typically used for heating and supplying potable hot water are inspected every 2 years. Pressure vessels are required to be inspected every 3 years. (see 430 ILCS 75/10)


Question: Is there a fee for these inspections?

Answer: Fees are charged for inspections and certificates. When inspections are performed by state inspectors, an inspection fee and a certificate fee is charged. When the required inspection is conducted by an insurance inspector, the owner or user is only charged for the Certificate of Inspection. (see Section 120.15)


Question: What happens after the inspection is completed?

Answer: Provided the equipment passes inspection, the owners or users are then invoiced the appropriate fees. Once the invoice is paid, a Certificate of Inspection is mailed out, which upon receiving, should be posted in the room where the equipment is located. If for some reason the equipment fails inspection, the inspector will leave with the owner or user a report detailing deficiencies found and what corrective action is required to bring the equipment back into compliance. A notification letter is also sent from the office in Springfield along with a repair report to be submitted when repairs are completed. Once the equipment is brought into compliance, an invoice for the inspection is mailed to the owner or user. After the invoice is paid, a Certificate of Inspection is mailed to the appropriate party.


Question: What codes or standards does the State of Illinois require for new boiler and pressure vessels to comply with?

Answer: The State of Illinois adopts by reference the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code for new construction. Boilers and pressure vessels constructed in accordance with these standards will be identified by the appropriate ASME Code Symbol Stamp on the nameplate attached to the equipment. Non code boilers and pressure vessels are not permitted to be installed and operated in Illinois.


Question: My boiler or pressure vessel is in need of repair. Who can perform these repairs?

Answer: Welded repairs to pressure equipment can only be performed by a company licensed by the Division of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety. Other types of repairs or maintenance should only be performed by competent repair organizations familiar with rules and regulations as required by the Division of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety.


Question: I received a violation notice in the mail which I don't understand. Who can I call for information regarding the requirements I am to meet?

Answer: The inspectors name is on the violation notice. The inspector left with you or your representative a summary report which has the inspectors name and phone number on it. Contact the inspector for an explanation of what corrective action is required. If you are not able to get a hold of the inspector, call the Division of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety at 217/782-2696, or 312-814-2381.


Question: My boiler or pressure vessel is past due for inspection. How do I go about getting an inspection?

Answer: Request for inspections can either be made by calling the Division of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety at either:

  • 217/782-2696, or
  • 312-814-2381, or
  • By contacting your authorized insurance company of record.