Illnois State Fire Musuem
OPEN DAILY TO THE PUBLIC BY APPOINTMENT
No Appointment Necessary During the Illinois State Fair
Admission is FREE!
Take a step back in time and see antique fire service memorabilia and then experience its modern equipment at the Illinois Fire Museum. The museum, located at the Old Firehouse at Main and Central avenues on the state fairgrounds in Springfield, is open to the public by appointment. Please call 217-524-8754 to schedule a tour.
The museum, located in a fire station built in 1938, houses an authentic 1857 horse drawn hand pumper, complete with water buckets. The antique pumper is parked next to a shiny brass fire pole once used by state fairgrounds firefighters. A fully restored 1939 Diamond T Pumper, donated by the Beardstown Fire Department has also taken up residence at the museum along with a replica of the 1948 Ford used by the old state fairgrounds fire department.
Open to the public since 1994 by the Office of the State Fire Marshal, the Illinois Fire Museum is also home to one of the nation's largest fire department patch collections. The exhibit includes patches from throughout Illinois, the United States and some foreign countries.
The highest honor bestowed upon Illinois firefighters; the "Firefighting Medal of Honor" is also showcased at the Illinois Fire Museum. Additionally, real fire scene photos, fire helmets, antique and contemporary uniforms, call boxes, nozzles, pike poles and fire extinguishers each have their own story to tell as they decorate the walls and exhibits of the museum.
Children can test their fire safety knowledge in the children's interactive, educational computer room. Here, children learn about hazards in the home, fire safety behaviors and tips on how to react if a fire does occur.
For more information or to arrange special tours, please call Management Services at 217-785-7487 or email Management Services.